Using what I have and choosing to go slow

fullsizeoutput_bff

We are in pretty dire need of some new dishcloths in our house. The old ones have survived a few years and are now looking remarkably worse for wear. While it would be easy to pop a plastic packet containing a few new cloths into our supermarket trolley next trip, it’s a much nicer process to utilise materials already in my possession, avoid plastic packaging, save some money and take some time to practice my knitting.

I will be the first to admit that my knitting skills are incredibly amateur, but I find the process relaxing and the results to be satisfying. However, it turns out there are only so many scarves you can wear when living in the subtropics, and after knitting more for friends, I needed something new to work on.

This easy dishcloth tutorial provided the perfect opportunity for some mindful knitting in the evenings while watching Netflix of listening to a podcast. I’m using leftover cotton yarn from another project and a pair of knitting needles I picked up at the op shop for 20 cents.

Whatsmore, when the cloth has reached the end of its life I know the cotton yarn is biodegradable and can be added to my compost bin. Win, win, right?

2 comments

Leave a comment